And so it begins

Welcome to my blog! I am thrilled to begin this project for so many reasons. I write this first post from my apartment in Taipei. My mind and body are taking a moment to process this reality I find myself in, as I arrived in Taiwan less than 12 hours ago. First impressions? I feel surprisingly at home.

I join David (the husband) here in Taipei. David has been teaching English for the last 2 months at an elementary school in the city. For about 7 years David has expressed a growing desire to teach English abroad and 2011 felt like the right year to embark on a journey of this magnitude. David had been working as a substitute teacher for the last 2 years. I had been living and breathing everything Chinese medicine in a graduate program and wanted more! So here we are in the heart of Chinese medicinal culture.

But wait! There is more! Not only have I relocated life to Taipei, I am leaving for a journey in its own right in less than a week! Next Monday, I begin classes and hospital training at Chengdu University of Chinese Medicine. Myself, along with 2 friends from grad school, will be studying in Chengdu. There will be much to share, so stay tuned.

My life has become deeply influenced by Chinese medicine. This is why I chose Aromatic to Transform (Dampness), a category of Chinese herbs, as the name of this blog. The herbs in this category, due to their aromatic qualities, reawaken and strengthen our digestion, promote qi circulation, and transform dampness lingering within us. Sounds lovely, doesn’t it? I hope you enjoy exploring some of these herbs and some of the theory of Chinese medicine with me in future posts to come.

7 thoughts on “And so it begins

  1. So glad to hear you are there safely and feeling at home already. Keep the bogs coming. Love it. All is well here at home. In Phila except both the Eagles and the Phillies lost their important games yesterday by 1 point! xoxo aunt erica

  2. Andrea thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and adventures. You are a lively , informative, and heartfelt writer. I look forward to your next post.

  3. You’re a really good writer, Andrea! I think you must feel right at home because Taipei is so wet! I hope you keep these blogs…you may write a book someday.

    • It was so nice talking to you before you left the country, dear! I’m glad you made it safely and I look forward to your future blogs. Say hi to the hubby for me!

Leave a Reply

