Hello USA! 好事多磨

Finally! I am extremely excited to return to the world of blogging! Here are my brain thoughts…

好事多磨 hǎo shì duō mó

My quest has typically been one of diversion. We all have our path to walk in life; mine is bumpy, and clumsy as I am I might stumble, sometimes even falling hard along the way. I seemingly pursue a jagged, swirling, and at times frustrating labyrinth on a map of an unknown architects design. There are dead ends, and most of the time I move in circles, looping back around to those same places every so often. It is punch-drunk confusing, really. Be that as it may, life is nothing more than an adventure and I have accumulated invaluable personal treasures and moments of authentic, transparent bliss along the way. How I became fortunate enough to have someone walk beside me on their own crazy correlate is beyond me. Either way, I feel good, and I do my best to comply with this little internal compass, buried deep in my core, as it aligns me accordingly. This is my life. This is how I move about in this crazy world. This is how I make decisions, how decisions make me. Life is, without a doubt, terrifically exciting.

If I were a bird, navigation would be somewhat more refined, not to mention phenomenally picturesque. Migratory birds, among other animals, possess a physiological magnetic compass that helps them to find the right direction on their migratory flights. Homing pigeons, for instance, utilize magnetite, a biogenic, magnetic material imbedded in their beak as the basis of a magnetic-intensity sensor. This sensor, as some studies suggest, is utilized as a magnetic ‘map’ sense that helps birds to determine geographic position (migratory salmon, dolphins, honeybees, and bats are among those that also possess and utilize this mineral).

It is interesting to note that we are not as different as our feathered friends as some might think. In actuality, shiny magnetite crystals have been found to exist within a nerve cluster in front of our very own pituitary gland, behind the ethmoid sinus. According to The Subtle Body author Cyndi Dale, this magnetite may in part explain the discovery of complex magnetic fields in the head and may also explain the sensitivity that humans experience towards the magnetic fields around us. Some experts say that this magnetite makes the ethmoid bone sensitive to the earth’s magnetic field and helps each of us with our sense of direction. This topic is far bigger than my simplified ramblings, of course, so I will leave it at this for now. Something to think about, anyway.

As to the purpose of this rambling? Simply to tell you all (in case you didn’t already know) that I been drawn back to the Pacific Northwest! Often it seems the further I move from here, the more off center I tilt and so I have enthusiastically replanted my two feet on the fertile terra firma that is Portlandia, USA. The temple gods of Taipei wanted it no other way. Believe me, I asked. Listening to my intuition, and that tug inside of me pulling my body back to Oregon, has set my feet onto solid ground and put my mind and body at ease. I am so happy to be back.

Back in the USA! Photo taken at Badlands National Park, South Dakota

Approaching Jackson, Wyoming

My dear Taipei is still a fresh memory and I am still reestablishing my bearings here in Portland. I miss speaking Chinese daily, I miss my friends, I miss the action, and strangely enough I miss the squat toilets. I miss the world that is Asia and doubt I will be able to stay away for very long.

My friends, thanks as always for reading!~

 

3 thoughts on “Hello USA! 好事多磨

  1. So glad to see you back blogging! I enjoy the ramblings and the pictures! So, am I to understand that you were either attracted back to Portland like a homing pigeon because of your nose (beak) for the smells, eyes for the sites, brain for the stimulation, and body for the feel good all over sensory that Portland gives? 🙂

Leave a Reply

